Friday, 31 January 2014

Bird News - Friday 31st January 2014

Lagoon 3 - 7 Smew still

Wet Meadow - Bar-tailed Godwits still

Dam - Black-throated Diver still and Great Northern Diver sill also Black Redstart still at the South End

North Arm - 3 Long-tailed Ducks still and 4 Black-necked Grebes still

Tuesday, 28 January 2014

Bird News - Tuesday 28th January 2014

Lagoon 3 - Bar-tailed Godwit flew over heading South

Lagoon 2 - 7 Smew

Lagoon 1 - 1 Short-eared Owl today

North Arm - 2 Long-tailed Ducks still and 3 Black-necked Grebes still

Gibbets Gorse - 2 Scaup

Monday, 27 January 2014

Bird News - Monday 27th January 2014

Lagoon 2 - 8 Smew

Lagoon 1 - 2 Grey Plovers

North Arm - 2 Long-tailed Ducks and 1 Black-necked Grebe still

Sunday, 26 January 2014

Bird News - Sunday 26th January 2014

Lagoon 3 - 2 Smew

Lagoon 2 - 1 Smew

Egelton Meadows - 1 Green Sandpiper

North Arm - 3 Long-tailed Ducks still and 3 Black-necked Grebes still

Saturday, 25 January 2014

Bird News - Saturday 25th January 2014

Lagoon 2 - 3 Smew

Dam - Black-throated Diver still and Great Northern Diver also Black Redstart still at the South End

North Arm - 3 Long-tailed Ducks still and 3 Black-necked Grebes still

Friday, 24 January 2014

Wednesday, 22 January 2014

Bird News - Wednesday 22nd January 2014

Whitwell - Siberian Chiffchaff near the footpath

North Arm - 1 Long-tailed Duck still and 17 Bramblings roosted

Tuesday, 21 January 2014

Bird News - Tuesday 21st January 2014

Lagoon 3 - Bittern again and 5 Smew

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still and Great Northern Diver still

Dam - Siberian Chiffchaff still behind the wall also Black Redstart still at the South End

North Arm - 2 Long-tailed Ducks still and 4 Black-necked Grebes also 22 Bramblings roosted

Monday, 20 January 2014

Bird News - Monday 20th January 2014

North Arm - 11 Whooper Swans, 3 Long-tailed Ducks still and 4 Black-necked Grebes still also 20+ Bramblings roosted

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still

Dam - Siberian Chiffchaff still in the bushes below the Dam Wall, Black Redstart still and Great Northern Diver still

Sunday, 19 January 2014

Bird News - Sunday 19th January 2014

Dam - Black-throated Diver still, Great Northern Diver still, Siberian Chiffchaff still in the bushed below the Dam Wall, Scaup and Black Redstart still

North Arm - 3 Long-tailed Ducks still, 4 Black-necked Grebes and 11+ Bramblings roosted

Hambelton Peninsular - Pink-footed Goose still

Saturday, 18 January 2014

Bird News - Saturday 18th January 2014

Lagoon 3 - 5 Smew

Lagoon 2 - 4 Smew and 2 Green Sandpipers

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still

Dam - Siberian Chiffchaff still, Black Redstart still and 1 Scaup

North Arm - 2 Long-tailed Ducks still, 1 Caspian Gull (2nd winter) and 1 Pink-footed Goose flew over

Friday, 17 January 2014

Bird News - Friday 17th January 2014

Lagoon 3 - Bittern again and 2 Smew

Lagoon 2 - 2 Stonechats and 3 Smew

Dam - Siberian Chiffchaff still in the bushes below the Dam Wall and Black Redstart still at the South End also Great Northern Diver still

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still

Thursday, 16 January 2014

Bird News - Thursday 16th January 2014

Dam - Black Redstart still

North Arm - 3 Long-tailed Ducks still, 4 Black-necked Grebes and 6+ Bramblings roosted

Wednesday, 15 January 2014

Bird News - Wednesday 15th January 2014

Dam - Black-throated Diver still

North Arm - 3 Long-tailed Ducks still and 22 Bramblings roosted

Tuesday, 14 January 2014

Bird News - Tuesday 14th January 2014

Lagoon 4 - 1 Caspian Gull roosted

Lagoon 3 - 1 Green Sandpiper

Dam - Black-throated Diver still, Great Northern Diver still and Black Redstart still at the South End

Hambelton Peninsular - 5 Brent Geese still

Monday, 13 January 2014

Bird News - Monday 13th January 2014

Lagoon 3 - 1 Jack Snipe

Dam - Siberian Chiffchaff in the bushes below the Dam Wall also Merlin at 13:25 before it flew South

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still also Great Northern Diver still (then in the North Arm)

Normanton - 2 Scaup (pair) and 1 Common Scoter (drake)

Sunday, 12 January 2014

Bird News - Sunday 12th January 2014

North Arm - 1 Long-tailed Duck still and 4 Black-necked Grebes still

Dam - 5 Brent Geese (Craig Howat) flew over and landed on the water and then flew to Hambelton Peninsular 

Saturday, 11 January 2014

Bird News - Saturday 11th January 2014

Lagoon 4 - 1 Green Sandpiper

Lagoon 3 - Bittern again and 3 Smew (1 drake and 2 redheads)

Egelton Meadows - 1 Green Sandpiper

North Arm - Iceland Gull (1st winter) (Matthew Berriman) this evening then flew to main water also 2 Long-tailed Ducks still and 4 Black-necked Grebes still

Friday, 10 January 2014

Bird News - Friday 10th January 2014

Lagoon 3 - 1 Bittern

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still and Great Northern Diver still

Dam - Black Redstart again at the South End

North Arm - 2 Long-tailed Ducks still and 2 Black-necked Grebes still

Thursday, 9 January 2014

Tuesday, 7 January 2014

Bird News - Tuesday 7th January 2014

Lagoon 4 - Glaucose Gull (adult) (Steve Lister) roosted from 15:30

Lagoon 3 - 6 Smew

Dam - Black-throated Diver still and Great Northern Diver still

North Arm - 3 Long-tailed Ducks still and 4 Black-necked Grebes still

Monday, 6 January 2014

Bird News - Monday 6th January 2014

Dam - Black Redstart still at the South End

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver again

North Arm - 1 Long-tailed Duck still and 1 Black-necked Grebe still

Sunday, 5 January 2014

Bird News - Sunday 5th January 2014

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still

Dam - Great Northern Diver still and Black Redstart again at the South End

North Arm - 3 Long-tailed Ducks still and 4 Black-necked Grebes still

Saturday, 4 January 2014

Bird News - Saturday 4th January 2014

Lagoon 1 - 2 Dunlin

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still

Dam - Great Northern Diver still and 1 Scaup also Black Redstart still at the South End

North Arm - 3 Long-tailed Ducks still

Friday, 3 January 2014

Bird News - Friday 3rd January 2014

Lagoon 2 - 3 Smew

Lagoon 1 - 2 Stonechats still

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still

Dam - Great Northern Diver still also Black Redstart still at the South End

North Arm - 1 Long-tailed Duck still and 3 Black-necked Grebes still

Thursday, 2 January 2014

Bird News - Thursday 2nd January 2014

Dam - Black Redstart (female) still at the South End also Great Northern Diver still

Whitwell - Black-throated Diver still

North Arm - 4 Black-necked Grebes still, 3 Long-tailed Ducks still and 4+ Bramblings roosted

Wednesday, 1 January 2014

Bird News - Wednesday 1st January 2014

Lagoon 8 - 2 Common Redpolls (Matthew Berriman)

North Arm - Kittiwake (1st winter) (Tim Appleton), 2 Long-tailed Ducks still and 3 Black-necked Grebes