Wednesday, 30 September 2015

Bird News - Wednesday 30th September 2015

Lagoon 3 - 1 Bittern still this evening

Monday, 28 September 2015

Bird News - Monday 28th September 2015

Lagoon 3 - 1 Bittern still this evening

Lagoon 2 - 1 Greenshank 

Lagoon 1 - 1 Great White Egret still

North Arm - 1 Black Tern (juvenile), 1 Arctic Tern (juvenile) also 1 Red-necked Grebe still and 2 Black-necked Grebes still

Sunday, 27 September 2015

Bird News - Sunday 27th September 2015

Lagoon 3 - 1 Bittern again this evening

North Arm - 1 Black-necked Grebe still this morning

Saturday, 26 September 2015

Friday, 25 September 2015

Bird News - Friday 25th September 2015

Lagoon 4 - 2 Dunlin still

Lagoon 3 - 2 Green Sandpipers still also 1 Bittern again this evening

Lagoon 2 - 3 Black-tailed Godwits still

North Arm - 2 Black-necked Grebes still also 1 Red-necked Grebe still (off Barnsdale)

Whitwell Creek - 1 Common Sandpiper

Manton Bay - 9 Ruff, 1 Green Sandpiper also 4 Red-crested Pochards (3 drakes)

Heron Bay - 2 Great White Egrets still

Thursday, 24 September 2015

Bird News - Thursday 24th September 2015

Lagoon 4 - 1 Mediterranean Gull this evening also 2 Dunlin and 9 Ringed Plovers

Lagoon 3 - 2 Green Sandpipers and 1 Bittern again briefly flying near Buzzard Hide this evening also 2 Great White Egrets still (flew over)

North Arm - 2 Black-necked Grebes still also 1 Red-necked Grebe still (off Barnsdale)

Wednesday, 23 September 2015

Bird News - Wednesday 23rd September 2015

Lagoon 3 - 1 Bittern this evening

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still (off Barnsdale)

Tuesday, 22 September 2015

Bird News - Tuesday 22nd September 2015

Lagoon 4 - 4 Dunlin

Lagoon 3 - 5 Green Sandpipers also 2 Red-crested Pochards (1 drake)

Lagoon 1 - 3 Black-tailed Godwits1 Greenshank, 2 Ruff also 2 Stonechats still

Heron Bay - 2 Great White Egrets still this afternoon (also 1 on Wet Meadow this morning and 1 in South Arm 3)

North Arm - 11 Grey Plovers this morning only, 1 Common Sandpiper also 1 Red-necked Grebe still and 2 Black-necked Grebes still (off Barnsdale)

Manton Bay - 6 Ruff also 1 Green Sandpiper

Monday, 21 September 2015

Bird News - Monday 21st September 2015

Lagoon 1 - 3 Black-tailed Godwits

South Arm 3 - 1 Little Gull (adult) this morning also 1 Great White Egret still

North Arm - 2 Black-necked Grebes still

Sunday, 20 September 2015

Bird News - Sunday 20th September 2015

Lagoon 1 - 1 Marsh Harrier still this morning

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still off Barnsdale

Saturday, 19 September 2015

Bird News - Saturday 19th September 2015

Lagoon 2 - 1 Great White Egret still

Lagoon 1 - 1 Marsh Harrier2 Red-crested Pochards still, 1 Dunlin, 1 Greenshank still and 2 Black-tailed Godwits

Wet Meadow - 2 Stonechats also 1 Whinchat

North Arm - 2 Black-necked Grebes still

Thursday, 17 September 2015

Wednesday, 16 September 2015

Bird News - Wednesday 16th September 2015

Lagoon 7 - 1 Whinchat near cycle track

Lagoon 6 - 3 Whinchats behind Tern Hide

Lagoon 5 - 1 Wheatear near the cycle track

Lagoon 1 - 2 Black-tailed Godwits1 Greenshank also 1 Stonechat (from Mallard Hide)

Tuesday, 15 September 2015

Bird News - Tuesday 15th September 2015

Lagoon 6 - 1 Wheatear behind Tern Hide

Lagoon 4 - 8 Dunlin

Lagoon 3 - 1 Green Sandpiper

Lagoon 2 - 2 Green Sandpipers

Lagoon 1 - 1 Black-tailed Godwit still, 3 Ruff1 Greenshank and 3 Red-crested Pochards still

South Arm 3 - 1 Black Tern

Wet Meadow - 1 Great White Egret still this morning

North Arm - 2 Black-necked Grebes still also 7 Dunlin

Sunday, 13 September 2015

Bird News - Sunday 13th Septeber 2015

Lagoon 7 - 1 Green Sandpiper

Lagoon 3 - 3 Green Sandpipers

Lagoon 2 - 1 Ruff, 4 Green Sandpipers, 2 Greenshanks and 1 Great White Egret still

Lagoon 1 - 2 Red-crested Pochards still also 1 Black-tailed Godwit still

North Arm - 2 Black-necked Grebes still also 3 Black Terns midday (briefly)

Burley Fishponds - 1 Great Skua (unfortunately I'm all Skua'd out) flew over coming from the East (then headed towards Lagoon 4 and then drifted back to the North Arm, but couldn't be found afterwards sadly)

Heron Bay - 1 Great White Egret still

Saturday, 12 September 2015

Bird News - Saturday 12th September 2015

Lagoon 1 - 6 Red-crested Pochards still, 1 Black-tailed Godwit still, 1 Ruff and 1 Great White Egret still

Wet Meadow - 1 Whinchat this afternoon

North Arm - 2 Black-necked Grebes still this morning

Friday, 11 September 2015

Bird News - Friday 11th September 2015

Lagoon 7 - 1 Common Sandpiper and 1 Green Sandpiper

Lagoon 4 - 7 Dunlin

Lagoon 3 - 4 Green Sandpipers still

Lagoon 2 - 1 Spotted Redshank

Lagoon 1 - 1 Black-tailed Godwit this morning also 1 Great White Egret still, 1 Dunlin, 1 Greenshank and 4 Red-crested Pochards still

North Arm - 1 Common Sandpiper still

South Arm 3 - 1 Ruff, 1 Greenshank and 1 Common Sandpiper still

Goldeneye Spit - 1 Little Gull this morning with Black-headed Gulls

Wednesday, 9 September 2015

Bird News - Wednesday 9th September 2015

Lagoon 7 - 1 Green Sandpiper flew over

Lagoon 1 - 1 Black-tailed Godwit flew over

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still and 1 Red-crested Pochard still (in Dickinson's Bay) also 2 Black-necked Grebes still

South Arm 3 - 1 Great White Egret still also 1 Greenshank

Tuesday, 8 September 2015

Bird News - Tuesday 8th September 2015

Lagoon 3 - 1 Wryneck trapped and ringed in the reedbed this afternoon

South Arm 3 - 1 Great Skua this afternoon at 13:56 then flew West

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still also 2 Black-necked Grebes still

Monday, 7 September 2015

Bird News - Monday 7th September 2015

Lagoon 1 - 1 Ruff and 2 Black-tailed Godwits still

North Arm - 1 Black-necked Grebe still, 1 Red-necked Grebe still (off Barnsdale) and 1 Red-crested Pochard still

South Arm 3 - 1 Great White Egret still

Goldeneye Spit - 2 Dunlin

Heron Bay - 1 Green Sandpiper

Main Water - 2 Caspian Gulls (1 adult and 1 3cy) this evening

Sunday, 6 September 2015

Bird News - Sunday 6th September 2015

Manton Bay - 2 Great White Egrets still this afternoon (also 1 this evening in the North Arm)

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe also 2 Black-necked Grebes still, 1 Red-crested Pochard, 1 Dunlin and 1 Common Sandpiper (Dickinson's Bay)

Saturday, 5 September 2015

Bird News - Saturday 5th September 2015

Lagoon 4 - 1 Mediterranean Gull this afternoon

Lagoon 3 - 7 Green Sandpipers

Lagoon 2 - 2 Ruff also 1 Green Sandpiper

Lagoon 1 - 1 Greenshank, 4 Black-tailed Godwits, 1 Common Sandpiper and 4 Red-crested Pochards still

North Arm - 1 Black-necked Grebe still (but just the one) also 1 Red-crested Pochard still

South Arm 3 - 2 Great White Egrets still this morning

Friday, 4 September 2015

Bird News - Friday 4th September 2015

Manton Bay - 12 Ruff, 1 Common Sandpiper1 Greenshank also 2 Great White Egrets (flew in from a fair height and came from the South - presumably the two usual ones)

North Arm - 2 Black-necked Grebes still


Thursday, 3 September 2015

Bird News - Thursday 3rd September 2015

North Arm - 9 Dunlin still and 3 Common Sandpipers

South Arm - 2 Common Sandpipers

Wednesday, 2 September 2015

Bird News - Wednesday 2nd September 2015

Lagoon 3 - 6 Green Sandpipers

Lagoon 2 - 3 Ruff and 4 Green Sandpipers still

Lagoon 1 - 4 Garganey still, 7 Red-crested Pochards, 1 Common Sandpiper, 2 Black-tailed Godwits still and 1 Great White Egret still

North Arm - 2 Common Sandpipers still, 16 Dunlin also 1 Red-crested Pochard and 2 Black-necked Grebes now (in Dickinson's Bay)


Tuesday, 1 September 2015

Bird News - Tuesday 1st September 2015

Lagoon 4 - 14 Dunlin (also in the North Arm), 4 Ruff and 1 Common Sandpiper

Lagoon 3 - 5 Green Sandpipers

Lagoon 2 - 5 Green Sandpipers and 1 Greenshank

Lagoon 1 - 1 Garganey still, 3 Red-crested Pochards still, 2 Whinchats3 Black-tailed Godwits, 2 Greenshanks, 1 Marsh Harrier still also 1 Great White Egret (the second one)

North Arm - 1 Ruff also 1 Black-necked Grebe still in Dickinson's Bay

Burley Fishponds - 1 Common Sandpiper and 1 Green Sandpiper

Goldeneye Spit - 1 Spoonbill this morning briefly

South Arm 3 - 1 Great White Egret still also 1 Little Gull

Manton Bay - 9 Ruff, 4 Common Sandpipers, 2 Green Sandpipers, 1 Greenshank also 2 Wood Sandpipers still