Monday, 29 February 2016

Bird News - Monday 29th February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 5 Smew (1 drake) still

Lagoon 3 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher still from Shoveler Hide

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still, 3 Black-necked Grebes still and 1 Great Northern Diver still

Burley Fishponds - 23 Whooper Swans this morning

South Arm - 2 Great Northern Divers

Sailing Club Bay - 2 Scaup

Sunday, 28 February 2016

Bird News - Sunday 28th February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 4 Smew (1 drake) still also 13 Whooper Swans this morning

Lagoon 3 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher still

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still, 3 Black-necked Grebes still and 1 Great Northern Diver still

Saturday, 27 February 2016

Bird News - Saturday 27th February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 6 Smew (1 drake) this afternoon

Lagoon 3 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher still today from Shoveler Hide and 2 Dunlin

Lagoon 2 - 2 Scaup (1 female and 1 1st winter male)

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 3 Black-necked Grebes still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still and 2 Great Northern Divers still

Friday, 26 February 2016

Bird News -Friday 26th February 2016

Lagoon 3 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher still from Shoveler Hide this morning till early afternoon at least also 2 Scaup still

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still and 3 Black-necked Grebes still

Thursday, 25 February 2016

Bird News - Thursday 25th February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 3 Smew (1 drake) still and 3 Ringed Plovers now

Lagoon 3 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher showing well still from Shoveler Hide




Wednesday, 24 February 2016

Bird News - Wednesday 24th February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 7 Whooper Swans this morning then flew off

Lagoon 3 - Long-billed Dowitcher still all day from Shovler Hide still on the island also 1 Smew (drake) still

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 3 Black-necked Grebes still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still also 1 Great Northern Diver still

Tuesday, 23 February 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 23rd February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Ringed Plovers now also 6 Smew (1 drake)

Lagoon 3 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher from about 15:45 (first on Lagoon 3 then flew towards Lagoon 4 and landed briefly then was back on Laoon 3 then till dusk when flew off from the Lagoon with 5 Snipe a wasn't seen since). This is more than likely to be the Wanlip Meadows bird. (Found by Terry Sherwood)

Lagoon 1 - 6 Dunlin also 1 Marsh Harrier this morning

North Arm - 3 Black-naked Grebes still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still, 1 Red-necked Grebe still also 1 Great Northern Diver still


















Monday, 22 February 2016

Bird News - Monday 22nd February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Ringed Plover (1st of the Spring)

Sailing Club Bay - 2 Scaup (1 1st winter drake and 1 female)

Sunday, 21 February 2016

Bird News - Sunday 21st February 2016

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still and 3 Black-necked Grebes still

Friday, 19 February 2016

Bird News - Friday 19th February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Smew still

South Arm 2 - 2 Great Northern Divers still

North Arm - 3 Black-necked Grebes still and 1 Red-necked Grebe still

Thursday, 18 February 2016

Wednesday, 17 February 2016

Tuesday, 16 February 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 16th February 2016

Lagoon 3 - 2 Scaup (1 female and 1 1st winter drake)

Lagoon 2 - 1 Stonechat (male) still

North Arm - 3 Black-necked Grebes still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still, 1 Red-necked Grebe still and 5 Smew (1 drake) this morning

South Arm 3 - 1 Great Northern Diver still

Sunday, 14 February 2016

Bird News - Sunday 14th February 2016

South Arm - 1 Great Skua this morning also 1 Great Northern Diver still

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still and 2 Black-necked Grebes still

Saturday, 13 February 2016

Friday, 12 February 2016

Bird News - Friday 12th February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 3 Smew (1 drake)

North Arm - 1 Great Northern Diver sill, 3 Black-necked Grebes still and 1 Slavonian Grebe still

Thursday, 11 February 2016

Bird News - Thursday 11th February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Smew (1 drake - also on Lagoon 3) still

Lagoon 3 - 4 Red-crested Pochards (1 drake) (EA) this evening

South Arm 3 - 1 Great Northern Diver still

South Arm 1 - 3 Dunlin

Tuesday, 9 February 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 9th February 2016

North Arm - 1 Slavonian Grebe still, 1 Red-necked Grebe still and 3 Black-necked Grebes still

Sunday, 7 February 2016

Bird News - Sunday 7th February 2016

North Arm3 Black-necked Grebes still, 1 Slavonian Grebe1 Red-necked Grebe still and 1 Great Northern Diver still

Saturday, 6 February 2016

Bird News - Saturday 6th February 2016

North Arm3 Black-necked Grebes still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still and 1 Red-necked Grebe still

Friday, 5 February 2016

Bird News - Friday 5th February 2016

North Arm - 3 Black-necked Grebes still, 1 Slavonian Grebe still and 1 Red-necked Grebe still

Thursday, 4 February 2016

Bird News - Thursday 4th February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Smew (redheads) still also 8 Dunlin

North Arm - 3 Black-necked Grebes still

Tuesday, 2 February 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 2nd February 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Smew (redhead) still

Whitwell - 2 Great Northern Divers still

South Arm - 1 Slavonian Grebe still

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 3 Black-necked Grebes still and 1 Smew

Monday, 1 February 2016