Saturday, 30 April 2016

Bird News - Saturday 30th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Whimbrel still, 12 Dunlin and 1 Grey Plover still

Lagoon 1 - 2 Black-tailed Godwits, 1 Ruff, 3 Dunlin and 1 Common Sandpiper

Friday, 29 April 2016

Bird News - Friday 29th April 2016

Lagoon 5 - 1 Common Sandpiper still

Lagoon 4 - 2 Turnstones (this morning only), 1 Grey Plover, 35+ Dunlin, 3 Whrimbrel still also 2 Little Terns (NM) briefly this evening, but then flew towards Lagoon 1

Lagoon 1 - 1 Black-tailed Godwit still, 1 Ruff still and 1 Dunlin

Thursday, 28 April 2016

Bird News - Thursday 28th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Dunlin still and 1 Mediterranean Gull (adult) this evening

Lagoon 3 - 1 Green Sandpiper and 1 Brambling

Wednesday, 27 April 2016

Bird News - Wednesday 27th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 3 Whimbrel still, 2 Dunlin still and 1 Common Sandpiper still

Lagoon 1 - 1 Ruff still

Tuesday, 26 April 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 26th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 5 Whimbrel still, 2 Dunlin still and 1 Wheatear still

Lagoon 1 - 1 Ruff still

South Arm 3 - 2+ Arctic Terns still, 4 Scaup (1 drake) still and 1 Common Sandpiper

North Arm - 1 Garganey (drake) still

Manson Bay - No sign of Wood Warbler today

Monday, 25 April 2016

Bird News - Monday 25th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Common Sandpipers, 8+ Dunlin and 5 Whimbrel

Lagoon 1 - 1 Ruff, 1 Dunlin, 1 Whimbrel and 1 Arctic Tern

Wet Meadow - 1 Whinchat this morning

North Arm - 1 Kittiwake (briefly at 1:10) also 1 Hobby

Manton Bay - 1 Wood Warbler on the Lyndon Reserve

Sunday, 24 April 2016

Saturday, 23 April 2016

Bird News - Saturday 23rd April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Dunlin still and 3 Whimbrel still

Lagoon 3 - 2 Swifts

Lagoon 1 - 1 Garden Warbler

South Arm 3 - 22 Arctic Terns

Friday, 22 April 2016

Bird News - Friday 22nd April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 3 Whimbrel still and 1 Dunlin still

Lagoon 3 - 1 Marsh Harrier, but flew off this afternoon

South Arm 3 - 1 Great Northenr Diver still and 1 Arctic Tern

North Arm - 1 Great Northern Diver still and 1 Garganey (drake) still

Thursday, 21 April 2016

Bird News - Thursday 21st April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 3 Whimbrel still, 4 Dunlin still and 1 Mediterranean Gull (1st winter) this afternoon

Wednesday, 20 April 2016

Bird News - Wednesday 20th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 3 Whimbrel still, 6 Dunlin still, 1 Wheatear still also 1 Swift over

Tuesday, 19 April 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 19th April 2016

Lagoon 7 - 1 Green Sandpiper still

Lagoon 4 - 1 Greenshank8+ Dunlin still and 3 Whimbrel

Lagoon 1 - 1 Black-tailed Godwit

Monday, 18 April 2016

Bird News - Monday 18th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Whimbrel still, 6+ Dunlin still also 1 Redstart (male) in the hedge west of Dunlin Hide along the track

Lagoon 3 - 1+ Arctic Tern this evening

Lagoon 1 - 1 Ruff (TA) this morning

South Arm 3 - 4 Scaup still (1 drake)

North Arm - 1 Great Northern Diver still

Sunday, 17 April 2016

Bird News - Sunday 17th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 5 Whimbrel still, 6 Dunlin1 Common Sandpiper still and 1 Wheatear still

Lagoon 2 - 1+ Green Sandpipers this evening

South Arm 3 - 4 Scaup (1 drake) still

Saturday, 16 April 2016

Bird News - Saturday 16th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 5 Whimbrel still, 8 Dunlin still, 1 Common Sandpiper still and 1 Wheatear

Lagoon 3 - 1 Garganey still

Lagoon 2 - 1 Reed Warbler

Lagoon 1 - 2 Dunlin

South Arm 3 - 7 Arctic Terns

Friday, 15 April 2016

Bird News - Friday 15th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 10+ Dunlin also 5 Whimbrel this evening

North Arm  - 1 Great Northern Diver still

Wednesday, 13 April 2016

Bird News - Wednesday 13th April 2016

Manton Bay - 1 Redstart (male) between the Lyndon Visitor Centre and Deep Water Hide also 1 Lesser Whitethroat

South Arm 3 - 1 Great Northern Diver still


Tuesday, 12 April 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 12th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Grey Plover still also 1 Common Sandpiper

Lagoon 1 - 1 Short-eared Owl this afternoon

North Arm - 1 Common Scoter (drake) this morning and 1 Red-necked Grebe still (off Armley Wood)

South Arm 3 - 2 Great Northern Divers still

South Arm - 3 Arctic Terns this afternoon





Monday, 11 April 2016

Bird News - Monday 11th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Little Gulls (this morning only) 1 Green Sandpiper, 3 Dunlin, 1 Grey Plover and 1 Whimbrel

Lagoon 3 - 1 Garganey (drake) still and 6 Little Gulls (1 1st winter) this afternoon

South Arm 3 - 4 Little Gulls (adults) this afternoon


Sunday, 10 April 2016

Friday, 8 April 2016

Bird News - Friday 8th April 2016

Egelton Reserve - 2 Common Cranes few over Northwest at 15:10

North Arm - 1 Garganey still and 1 Great Northern Diver still also 1 Red-necked Grebe still off Armley Wood

South Arm 3 - 1 Great Northern Diver still and 4 Scaup (1 drake) still

Thursday, 7 April 2016

Bird News - Thursday 7th April 2016

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 1 Garganey (drake) still, 1 Great Northern Diver still and 1 Red-breasted Merganser (female) this afternoon only

South Arm 3 - 1 Scaup (drake) still and 1 Great Northern Diver still


Tuesday, 5 April 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 5th April 2016

Lagoon 3 - 1 Sedge Warbler

Lagoon 1 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher still

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still

South Arm - 4 Scaup and 2 Great Northern Divers still

Monday, 4 April 2016

Bird News - Monday 4th April 2016

Lagoon 4 - 3 Wheatears still

Lagoon 1 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher still

North Arm - 2 Pink-footed Geese, 1 Black-necked Grebe still and 1 Red-necked Grebe still

Dam - 1 Great Northern Diver still

Saturday, 2 April 2016

Bird News - Saturday 2nd April 2016

Lagoon 5 - 1 Green Sandpiper still and 1 Wheatear

Lagoon 4 - 4 Wheatears

Lagoon 1 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher still this afternoon also 1 Dunlin and 1 Marsh Harrier this afternoon briefly

North Arm - 1 Red-necked Grebe still, 1 Garganey (drake) still (also on Lagoon 3) and 1 Common Tern

South Arm 3 - 3 Scaup

Sailing Club Bay - 1 Yellow Wagtail

Friday, 1 April 2016

Bird News - Friday 1st April 2016

Lagoon 1 - 1 Long-billed Dowitcher still

North Arm - 1 Garganey still, 1 Slavonain Grebe still and 1 Red-necked Grebe still

South Arm 3 - 1 Great Northern Diver still and 2 Scaup