Sunday, 31 July 2016

Bird News - Sunday 31st July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 6 Black-tailed Godwits this evening (then flew north), 1 Common Sandpiper still also 2 Great White Egrets still flew over

Lagoon 3 - 1 Marsh Harrier this evening

Saturday, 30 July 2016

Bird News - Saturday 30th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Greenshank, 2 Common Sandpipers still, 3 Green Sandpipers and 1 Mediterranean Gull (usual metal ringed bird)

North Arm - 2 Green Sandpipers and 1 Common Sandpiper

Friday, 29 July 2016

Bird News - Friday 29th July 2016

Lagoon 5 - 1 Great White Egret still

Lagoon 4 - 3 Dunlin still, 2 Common Sandpipers still and 4 Black-tailed Godwits

Lagoon 1 - 2 Marsh Harriers and 1 Great White Egret

Thursday, 28 July 2016

Bird News - Thursday 28th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Great White Egret still, 4 Dunlin, 1 Black-tailed Godwit still and 1 Mediterranean Gull roosted (usual metal ringed bird)

Wednesday, 27 July 2016

Bird News - Wednesday 27th July 2016

Lagoon 5 - 3 Dunlin

Lagoon 4 - 1 Dunlin and 1 Common Sandpiper

Lagoon 3 - 1 Black-tailed Godwit

Lagoon 1 - 1 Green Sandpiper, 1 Wood Sandpiper still (also flew over North Arm), 12 Black-tailed Godwits, 2 Red-crested Pochards and 1 Marsh Harrier

Wet Meadow - 7 Green Sandpipers, 1 Dunlin still and 2 Garganey

Tuesday, 26 July 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 26th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Caspian Gull still this morning also 3 Dunlin still and 2 Common Sandpipers still

Lagoon 1 - 1 Wood Sandpiper this evening

Monday, 25 July 2016

Bird News - Monday 25th July 2016

Lagoon 8 - 1 Great White Egret still (also in Heron Bay) and 1 Green Sandpiper

Lagoon 6 - 1 Green Sandpiper

Lagoon 4 - 1 Common Sandpiper still, 3 Dunlin and 1 Whimbrel

Lagoon 3 - 15+ Black-tailed Godwits (12 flew over and 3 were on then lagoon and the 6 were on the lagoon

Wet Meadow - 5 Green Sandpipers still, 1 Dunlin still and 1 Garganey still

Goldeneye Spit - 1 Common Sandpiper

Sunday, 24 July 2016

Bird News - Sunday 24th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Greenshanks briefly this evening also 1 Dunlin and 2 Common Sandpipers still

Wet Meadow - 1 Garganey still, 5 Green Sandpipers still and 1 Dunlin still

Heron Bay - 1 Great White Egret still (also flew over Lagoon 4 this evening)

Wednesday, 20 July 2016

Tuesday, 19 July 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 19th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Greenshank, 1 Whimbrel, 2 Ruff and 3 Black-tailed Godwits still

Lagoon 1 - 1 Scaup (drake) this afternoon

Monday, 18 July 2016

Bird News - Monday 18th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Dunlin also 3 Black-tailed Godwits this evening (then flew off south at about 20:30) and 1 Mediterranean Gull (adult) this evening briefly

Manton Bay - 1 Great White Egret still this morning

Sunday, 17 July 2016

Bird News - Sunday 17th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Dunlin still also 10 Black-tailed Godwits flew over this evening and then headed off towards Lagoon 1

Friday, 15 July 2016

Bird News - Friday 15th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Whimbrel this evening

Lagoon 1 - 1 Great White Egret this morning then flew to Lagoon 8 this afternoon

Thursday, 14 July 2016

Bird News - Thursday 14th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Mediterranean Gulls this evening (2 adults - usual metal ringed bird and a non-ringed bird) also 2 Dunlin, 8 Black-tailed Godwits and 1 Greenshank

Wednesday, 13 July 2016

Bird News - Wednesday 13th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 3 Mediterranean Gulls this evening (2 adults including one non-ringed bird in full summer plumage and one with a bit of summer plumage left and 1 1st summer with a green colour ring, which was present last night) also 4 Dunlin and 7 Black-tailed Godwits briefly, but then flew off East and was joined by another 4 Black-tailed Godwits that came from Lagoon 3

Wet Meadow - 1 Green Sandpiper still

Tuesday, 12 July 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 12th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Roseate Tern (found by Steve Lister) from about 09:33 on and off until 13:10 when it flew off east towards Lagoon 3 and the South Arm 3 also 5 Dunlin, 2 Caspian Gulls, 1 Mediterranean Gull (1st summer - green ringed bird) this evening, 1 Arctic Tern and 1 Common Sandpiper still

Lagoon 1 - 4 Red-crested Pochards

South Arm 3 - 14 Common Scoters (or 13 depending on who you speak to!)

Manson Bay - 1 Greenshank






Monday, 11 July 2016

Bird News - Monday 11th July 2016

Wet Meadow - 1 Black-tailed Godwit still

North Arm - 1 Common Sandpiper still

Saturday, 9 July 2016

Bird News - Saturday 9th July 2016

Lagoon 5 - 1 Common Sandpiper

Lagoon 4 - 1 Ruff and 1 Common Sandpiper

Wet Meadow - 2 Black-tailed Godwits still and 1 Green Sandpiper

North Arm - 1 Green Sandpiper and 1 Common Sandpiper

Friday, 8 July 2016

Bird News - Friday 8th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Common Sandpipers still

Wet Meadow - 12 Black-tailed Godwits still also 3 Green Sandpipers still

Thursday, 7 July 2016

Bird News - Thursday 7th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 1 Common Sandpiper still this evening

Wet Meadow - 8 Black-tailed Godwits still also 4 Green Sandpipers

Wednesday, 6 July 2016

Bird News - Wednesday 6th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 3 Dunlin (1 juvenile) also 1 Common Sandpiper

Wet Meadow - 22 Black-tailed Godwits still also 2 Green Sandpipers still

Tuesday, 5 July 2016

Bird News - Tuesday 5th July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Dunlin,Common Sandpiper and 1 Mediterranean Gull

Lagoon 1 - 22 Black-tailed Godwits also 1 Green Sandpiper

Wet Meadow - 3 Green Sandpipers

Monday, 4 July 2016

Saturday, 2 July 2016

Bird News - Saturday 2nd July 2016

Lagoon 4 - 2 Common Sandpipers and 1 Dunlin

Lagoon 1 - 25 Black-tailed Godwits flew around the lagoon for a few minutes, but eventually flew off south at around midday